Nationally Recognized Heart Hospital
Dallas   Fort Worth

Find a Physician

Advanced Search

Baylor Scott & White Heart and Vascular Institute

Physician Leadership

William C. Roberts, MD, is the executive director of the Baylor Scott & White Heart and Vascular Institute. The American College of Cardiology recently honored Dr. Roberts with its Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes a lifetime of outstanding work dedicated to the advancement of the understanding and treatment of cardiovascular disease. He has focused his career on cardiovascular research and has published thousands of peer-reviewed articles in the most well-respected cardiac and scientific journals. His articles are based on research studies and clinical trials he has spearheaded or in which he has participated as a leading researcher. He graduated from Southern Methodist University in Dallas, TX and received his medical degree from Emory University in Atlanta, GA, in 1958. He completed a residency in anatomical pathology at the National Cancer Institute. He also served in several leadership roles at the National Institutes of Health, including chief of the pathology branch at the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute. He assumed his current role with BHVI in 1993. He has served as editor-in-chief of The American Journal of Cardiology since June 1982. He also serves as editor-in-chief of American Journal of Cardiovascular Medicine and Baylor University Medical Center Proceedings. Dr. Roberts is an editorial board member of many scientific and clinical journals.

Peter McCullough, MD, chief of Cardiovascular Research, helps lead the team of world-renowned cardiologists affiliated with the Institute and with Baylor Hamilton Heart and Vascular Hospital. Dr. McCullough is a graduate of Baylor University. He received his medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas, Southwestern Medical School in 1988. He completed an internal medicine residency at the University of Washington School of Medicine and, in 1994, a Master in Public Health degree from the University of Michigan School of Public Health. He also completed a three-year fellowship in cardiovascular diseases at William Beaumont Hospital in Michigan. In 2014, Dr. McCullough joined Baylor Scott & White Health as vice chair of Internal Medicine at Baylor University Medical Center and as chief of Cardiovascular Research. He is an internationally recognized authority on the effect of chronic kidney disease on cardiovascular disease. Dr. McCullough's life-long commitment to research is rooted in the belief that research enables patients to access new technologies, medications and treatments, elevating care to a higher standard. He serves as co-editor of Reviews in Cardiovascular Medicine, a consultant for Journal of the American College of Cardiology, and editor for CardioRenal Medicine – Affiliated with the Cardio Renal Society of America.

John F. Eidt, MD, is the (Vice Chair of Vascular Surgical Services). A Dallas native, Dr. Eidt is a graduate of the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, IN. He received his medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Dallas, Southwestern Medical School, in 1981. He completed his residency in general surgery at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston, MA, a clinical vascular fellowship at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, a vascular research fellowship at University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and an endovascular surgery fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic. Dr. Eidt serves as co-editor of Scientific American Vascular Surgery and as a member of the editorial board of Vascular Specialist.

Paul A. Grayburn, MD, is director of Cardiology Research and the Non-Invasive Laboratory at Baylor Scott & White Heart and Vascular Hospital - Dallas. He is a Clinical Professor of Medicine at Texas A & M. Dr. Grayburn graduated from Texas A&M University in College Station, TX. He received his medical degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston in 1981. He completed a residency in internal medicine at St. Paul Medical Center in Dallas, TX, and fellowships in cardiology and interventional cardiology at the University of Kentucky in Lexington, KY. He has recently completed research focused on developing ultrasound targeted microbubble destruction as a means of delivering gene therapy to the heart. He has served in leadership roles in several multicenter trials (BEST, STICH, EVEREST II, COAPT, CTSN, Apollo) and directs an echocardiographic core laboratory for clinical trials in valvular heart disease. He is Associate Editor of the Journal of the American College of Cardiology: Cardiovascular Imaging, the American Journal of Cardiology and Structural Heart: The Journal of the Heart Team. Dr. Grayburn has published more than 400 manuscripts or book chapters in peer-reviewed journals.

Milton Packer, MD, is currently Distinguished Scholar in Cardiovascular Science at Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas. Dr. Packer is an internationally recognized clinical investigator who has made many seminal contributions to the field of heart failure, both in understanding its mechanism and defining its rational management. His work has spanned nearly 40 years serving as an investigator for the National Institutes of Health and the Food and Drug Administration and has been strongly supported by numerous investigator-initiated grants from the National Institutes of Health and from industry. Dr. Packer’s research established the cornerstone of the current modern treatments for heart failure, for which he received the Lewis Katz Lifetime Achievement Award from the Heart Failure Society of America. He graduated from Pennsylvania State University and received his medical degree from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, PA in 1973. Dr. Packer completed a residency in Internal Medicine at Bronx Municipal Hospital Center, Albert Einstein College of Medicine in 1976 and fellowships in Cardiology at Mount Sinai School of Medicine in 1977 and 1978. He was president of the Heart Failure Society of America from 2000-2002 and has served on numerous guidelines and standards committees for the American Heart Association and American College of Cardiology.

 Find A Physician

 Download the App

 Let's Chat

 HeartSpeak Podcast